While it had yet to recover from the data privacy scandal, Facebook has been hit with yet another mess.
In the latest accident, social networking company has informed its 800,000 users about a bug that caused the company system to unblock some of the people they have previously blocked.
The bug wreaked havoc on both the Facebook web page and Messenger app.
By implication, the blocked people could now see the profiles of the users’ again and contact them by sending a friend request or a message.
“Starting today, we are notifying over 800,000 users about a bug in Facebook and Messenger that unblocked some people they had blocked.
"The bug was active between May 29 and June 5 — and while someone who was unblocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience, “ Erin Egan, Chief Privacy Officer, Facebook, disclosed in a blog post.
“For example pictures shared with friends of friends. We know that the ability to block someone is important — and we’d like to apologize and explain what happened.”
This mess has attracted a lot of criticism from the users and industry experts because Facebook has already been condemned for its role in the Cambridge Analytica scandal.
The later investigation revealed the misuse of personal data of millions of users. In the damage control mode, Facebook promised to send a message to all the affected users.
This might instil some degree of frustration on users of the app who often bask in the euphoria of their block button which they often rever as the next big thing after chocolates as they hoped it would help the blocked contacts steer clear from their affairs.
But sorry, the bug is a big-time bug and so are your stubborn blocked contacts!
Have you checked to see if you are affected by the bug mess?